REAL TALK#1

This morning, I was listening to a playlist from 2008, when Rihanna frequently released music and we were all Man U fans. Sunday mornings are my spiritual hours. To help me get in tune spiritually, I play music and sit on my bedroom window which has a carpet green view of ILRI farm. The grass is deep green, just as I like it. Very refreshing. My music is from Spotify, they have some dope playlists and this one from 2008 is up there with the best. Lady Gaga comes on, remember the song Just Dance! Niko mandukulu, this view is amazing and the songs are just dope. Perfect Sunday.

east-africa-kenya
Courtesy of ILRI.   Sasa I see this, but from 7th floor. 

The thing about music is that when it hits you, you feel no pain. (Bob Marley)  This quote has never made sense to me, until now. Gaga is making so much sense. Just Dance, is a story of two friends in a club and one is kinda anxious and can’t really make sense of what is going on.

She says, I love this record, baby, but I can’t see straight anymore. What’s goin’ on the floor? Their partner, who seems more experienced in clubbing tells them to Just dance, its gonna be okay. Just dance. 

 

 

DaT46MsW4AA404K.jpglarge.jpg

This is what heaven should be like if you ask me. Pure freedom. I can feel the peace of giving up control and letting life take its course. The freedom that comes from shedding insecurities and freeing yourself outside the cages that were constructed for you. In this small heaven, I had created for myself, I find freedom.  I remembered the great quote by Amelia Rhodes, In a society that worships love, freedom, and beauty, dance is sacred. It is a prayer for the future, a remembrance of the past and a joyful exclamation of thanks for the present. 

I’m not the best dancer, I’m actually one of the worst. But I dance anyway.  I  saw this quote on my Twitter timeline, Life is like a dance floor, you need to keep changing your moves. I live life like that, fail and fail again but never fail to try. So dance and dance poorly, but don’t fail to dance when you feel like it.

My friends have told me to respect myself numerous times, but after a few months of trying, they realized I was not about to stop dancing. I am a believer in the statement, Zikikushika Zimekushika. These days they have made peace with my dancing. They even know which sections of the song to leave to me.

hqdefault.jpg
If you know, you know. 

Okay, guys what I wanted to tell you was, If your life is a dancefloor, just know that there are more than enough clubs and when you’re no longer feeling the beat, don’t hesitate to move on to the next club. Otherwise, you will only know one genre of music.  Just dance, its gonna be okay.

Juu ya hiyo story, acha niendee mali ya round two! Ama vipi! Lupe Fiasco has said, The show goes on.

*I took the cover photo in ushagoo using an OPPO. Niendelee na phone photography ama?

Leave a comment